Singha right now!

This is probably the longest text I will write so bear with me. The last time I drank this beer I was in Thailand on a tsunami relief program. That was about two and a half years ago. I sure drank my share of Singha’s while I was over there. My friends and I were actually more worried about contracting the bird flu than getting drunk and lost in a country where no one speaks English and the people drive on the wrong side of the road at will (the motorcyclists are crazy). But before I rate this beer I want to tell you a little more about Thailand. If you are over 5’8 you are probably the tallest male in sight. It didn’t help that I am 6’1 and red haired. I stood out like a white red head in Asia. No pun intended. A good friend of mine and I went shopping in the markets and made a wrong turn. My friend has a severe case of Napoleon Syndrome which leads him to get really frustrated in situations where he cannot control the outcome.

We were lost and found ourselves in a a rainy alley (yes, it rains in isolated alleys of Bangkok). We were immediately overwhelmed with Thai suite makers, cyclists and cab drivers trying to hustle us for our money. They thought we were Australian considering the proximity to their country. We told them we were American. This probably wasn’t the smartest move in retrospect, but they immediately backed off.

So don’t let anyone tell you that wherever you go in the world people hate Americans. They like us in some places and fear us in others. Or maybe they thought my friend actually was Napoleon.

Joe and I in Bangkok Bangkok Traffic! This wasn’t filmed by me, but it was right where we stayed.

Singha is like the Yellowstone Park of beers. I really don’t know what that means, but it tastes great and it splashes your mouth like Listerine out of old faithful (I knew I would somehow tie that together). It has a monstrous 6.0% ABV and as you already know, it is brewed in Thailand. However, this lager, like many others, looses a little flavor when they are imported due to fluctuating temperatures in storage. So the zest may come as a shock to you upon initial taste, but you can always tell a good beer when you subconsciously grab a few more out of the fridge.

Singha gets 3 3/4 stars. Although, if you drink it in Thailand it gets 4 1/4

Check out this Singha ad and comment if you know what they are saying. My guess is “Dong.”

2 responses to “Singha right now!

  1. I think this beer would have prob tasted better to me if i had first drank it in Thailand like Billy. I thought it had kind a rice wine after taste like Saki.

  2. Your blog is interesting! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

